Select country

Board of Directors

Peter Allen Independent Non-Executive Chairman

Peter has a wealth of experience and has held key senior positions, including Chairman, CEO and CFO in a number of companies in the healthcare industry, and played a significant role in their growth.

Peter spent 12 years at Celltech Group plc (1992/2004) as CFO and Deputy CEO, six years at ProStraken Group plc as Chairman (2007/13) and interim CEO (2010/11) and three years as Chairman of Proximagen plc (2009/12).


Peter is currently Chairman of Abcam plc and Advanced Medical Solutions Group plc, and Non-Executive Director of Oxford Nanopore Technologies Limited and Istesso Limited.

The Board has undertaken a thorough review of each of the Chairman’s external appointments and is satisfied that he has sufficient time to meet all of his Board responsibilities at Clinigen. The Board believes that the Chairman provides effective leadership and manages Board meetings extremely well. Further, the Board finds the additional insight gained by his participation on other Boards to be of enormous benefit.

Shaun Chilton Chief Executive Officer

Shaun has been the CEO of Clinigen since November 2016 and has the responsibility for the Group achieving its KPIs and plays a central role in setting the Group strategy. Shaun has played a pivotal role in the development of Clinigen, joining the Company in January 2012 as Chief Operating Officer, when it was a privately-owned company with a turnover of £82m.

He was a key part of the executive team that took Clinigen through IPO in September 2012 and has been a fundamental part of the leadership of the impressive strategic growth of the Company.

Prior to joining Clinigen, Shaun held senior global strategic, commercial and operational roles at Pfizer, Sanofi, Wolters Kluwer Health and the KnowledgePoint360 Group (now part of UDG Healthcare).


Shaun is currently Chairman of C7 Health Limited, a provider of software and services for the healthcare sector.

The Board is satisfied that this external appointment does not impact upon the CEO’s ability to discharge his role at the Company effectively.

Nick Keher Chief Financial Officer

Nick joined Clinigen in March 2019 from RBC where he was Managing Director and Head of RBC’s European healthcare equity research team.

Prior to joining RBC, Nick was a senior analyst at Investec. Cumulatively, Nick has covered the European healthcare space for over eight years at both RBC and Investec.

Nick began his career at Lloyd’s Pharmacy, registering as a pharmacist before joining GlaxoSmithKline (‘GSK’). At GSK, Nick worked within the Group’s R&D, UK commercial operations and global manufacturing and supply strategy finance teams. Nick is a qualified accountant (ACMA) and a qualified pharmacist (MPharm) having completed his Master’s degree in Pharmacy, Medicinal Chemistry, Pharmaceuticals, Biology and Maths from Aston University.

Ian Nicholson Independent Non-Executive Director

Ian has considerable experience as both an Executive Director and as a Non-Executive Director. Ian was CEO of F2G Limited until 30th April 2021.


Ian is currently Non-Executive Chairman of Bioventix plc. Ian is also Chairman of the Investment Committee at Cancer Research UK Pioneer Fund, Director of Casewell Consulting Limited, and Wells Stores Limited, and an Operating Partner at Advent Life Sciences LLP.

Anne Hyland Senior Independent Director

Anne has a strong track record within the biopharma sector, bringing with her over 25 years of financial experience with both public and private companies.

Anne is a Chartered Accountant (FCA), and corporate tax adviser (CTA – AITI) and holds a degree in Business Studies from Trinity College, Dublin. Anne’s previous roles include CFO of BBI Diagnostics Group Limited and FTSE-listed Vectura Group plc. Prior to her role at Vectura, Anne held a number of senior finance positions at Celltech Group plc, Medeva plc and KPMG.


Anne is CFO of Kymab Ltd, a biopharmaceutical company acquired by Sanofi in April 2021 for an upfront payment of $1.1 billion and up to $350 million in deferred consideration. She is also a Non-Executive Director of Elementis plc, a global specialty chemicals company.

Alan Boyd Non-Executive Director

Professor Boyd has accumulated over 30 years of extensive medical and policy experience within the pharmaceutical sector, holding senior roles within some of the world’s largest pharmaceutical companies.

He began his pharmaceutical career with Glaxo Group Research Limited. From 1988, he led ICI’s cardiovascular medical research team, and later assumed the role of Director of Clinical and Medical Affairs at ICI Pharma, Canada.

In 1999, after four years as Head of Medical Research for Zeneca Pharmaceuticals, he became Director of Research and Development for Ark Therapeutics Limited where he was responsible for delivering the majority of key development milestones.

In 2005, Professor Boyd left to set up Alan Boyd Consultants Limited, to focus on aiding and supporting early stage life-science based companies in Europe, North America and Japan.

Professor Boyd is Clinigen's designated Non-Executive Director for workforce engagement.


Professor Boyd is currently CEO of Alan Boyd Consultants Limited, a private specialist biopharmaceutical consultancy company. He is also a Director of BaxterBoyd Limited and Celentyx Limited.

Amanda Miller General Counsel and Company Secretary

Amanda trained and qualified as a UK solicitor at Freshfields Bruckhaus Deringer and has over 20 years of legal and governance experience.

Before joining Clinigen in June 2017, she was Vice President and European General Counsel at Shire Pharmaceuticals Group plc where she had spent 14 years in positions of increasing responsibility in the UK and US. She began her professional career as a commodity trader for Cargill.

Sharon Curran Independent Non-Executive Director

Sharon is an experienced non-executive board director as well as having proven top-level experience in leading high impact global marketing, commercialisation and growth strategies for world class pharmaceutical corporations.

Sharon has held numerous senior operational and strategic roles at Eli Lilly, Abbott and most recently as VP, Global Marketing and Commercial Operations at AbbVie US [2012-2017] leading their global specialty franchise and development of commercial and launch capabilities. She has a M.Sc. in Business Administration from Trinity College, Dublin and a B.Sc. in Biotechnology from Dublin City University. She has a Chartered Director Program Diploma from the Institute of Directors.


Sharon is currently a Non-Executive Director for Circassia Group plc where she is Chair of the Remuneration Committee. She is also on the Board of MorphoSys AG (Audit & Risk Committee).